My journey towards ‘Social Media Detox’ in the Western Ghats of India

Let’s face it, social media is an addiction. I have not heard of social media detox programs or camps happening in India as of now. So with a lifestyle like mine, which involves heavy doses of social media, sometimes even round the clock, it becomes imperative that I go on a self imposed exile, away from the ever luring clutches of social media.

In flight essentials- My Kettle Calling Spectacle case from India Circus (originally priced at Rs.549, now on sale costs Rs.357). You can buy it here. My favorite Lays, Twix and Asterix The Gaul (re-reading the entire series)
In flight essentials– My Kettle Calling Spectacle case from India Circus (originally priced at Rs.549, now on sale costs Rs.357). You can buy it here. My favorite Lays, Twix and Asterix The Gaul (re-reading the entire series)

This time it meant keeping my phone on airplane mode even after getting off the plane and heading to a vacation into the heart of Western Ghats and whiling away a lot of time by the river Kaveri, waiting for a crocodile or two to come around (didn’t happen)!

The satisfaction I get out of it?

  • My love for travel does not get compromised! (win win for me)
  • I appreciate my lone time having inner conversations surrounded by nature and the green (times are such that we pay to see the Green of the forest)
  • I value the people I get to spend my time with and I get to actually have a conversation without checking my phone

Exploring India, can never get tiring, even though reaching some destinations may get tiring, like it happened for me on my way from Delhi-Bengaluru-Coorg. But once I reached Coorg, there was no looking back. I made the best out of my time there, amidst lush green forests, with sounds of over 365 species of birds and I don’t know how many species of trees, crickets and other insects that I know not the names of!

Days were humid and hot, but you don’t really get to feel that if you have found a comfortable spot in the neck of a tree and get to live your tree house fantasy opposite a lovely lake with incredible cross ventilation, not to forget the nights that get colder and better with fireflies playing around in their prime.

I think I have never slept better during the night, with all those jungle sounds playing by, all night round. Did you know that people who fight insomnia are often given CDs to play jungle sounds so that they can go to sleep with ease? I was innately surprised as to how my biological clock actually managed to wake me up at the break of dawn each day while I was in Coorg. The wonders of nature!

When my days were not spent around in the tree house, then I spent my time reading a lot (too many books to read and too little time- a problem every book lover is aware of) by the pool in the backyard of my room overlooking the lake and at the same time shadowed by the trees with different colors of wood or making my way around the Lotus filled ponds to sit calmly by the lake waiting to reel in the fish by the lovely Anthurium Gardens, and butterflies silently dodging by and spreading their colourful magic! The fish that I caught I threw back into the pond (for the record).

This is the reason why I needed a social media detox. These are the experiences that I believe that I should not be uploading first, but cherishing and feeling them first. To treasure them, and make them an inseparable and a permanent part of me, my lifestyle and the way I perceive things. This way the reality of the moment doesn’t get blurred.  And, believe it or not, the life becomes simple. True joys, lie in simplest of things.

Comfortable reading spot!
Comfortable reading spot!

The things that I carry with me reflect an extended part of my personality sometimes, like it happened with these beautiful India and nature inspired cushion covers from India Circus that help me define my reading spots (I am very Sheldon Cooper like when it comes to choosing my spots, I am rather more rigid). For me reading has to happen with the right cushions! And right cushions need to have the right cushion covers!

A quiet reading corner! The Dreamweaving Cushion cover (blue) can be purchased here and Dream Utopia poly velvet cushion cover(Purple) can be purchased here.
A quiet reading corner! The Dream weaving Cushion cover (Blue) can be purchased here and Dream Utopia poly velvet cushion cover(Purple) can be purchased here. Both these items  are presently on sale on India Circus. Shipping happens worldwide.
White Anthuriums <3 growing in the garden!
White Anthuriums in the garden!

Beautiful India Circus cushion covers shipped worldwide

On my way back from Coorg to Bengaluru, our driver suggested that we must go to the Golden Temple dedicated to Lord Budha, and out of pure coincidence I was carrying my lovely Nirvana Tree Oval Jhola bag from India Circus! Yay!

Golden Temple and my beautiful Nirvana Jhola Bag from India Circus.
Golden Temple and my beautiful Nirvana Tree Jhola Bag from India Circus. This bag is also currently on sale. Original price is Rs. 1299 and the discounted price is Rs.844! A steal for sure and shipped worldwide.You can buy it here.
The Monks! Spotted right after the morning prayer hour!
The Monks! Spotted right after the morning prayer hour!

You know how they say, wake up in bed, in your lover’s arm, and welcoming the day by looking at your lover’s face… My days were just like that in Coorg. I hope it takes more time to fall out of this routine, and into the arms of the time stealer- social media. I dread my days, when I wake up to check my zillion notifications and mails, first thing in the morning, before looking at anything else, warming up the coffee while replying back to those zillion notifications, driving (checking my phone) to the local park for the walk (checking my phone , now and then for the exercise apps), reading the news flash push notifications on an impulse, coming back watering plants and uploading more data……………

Faffer who is presently in a love-hate relationship with social media ,

Ruchi

Leave a Reply

