10 tips that you must not ignore while travelling

When your regular day at work keeps you alert 24*7, and your office looks like endless roads in the middle of nowhere with cloudy skies for roof, chasing rainbows and butterflies is routine, you seek shelter in forests with tall green trees, lazing by the beach with your favorite book happens too often, or when you look up, you are pleasantly surprised with a star studded sky or a mountain too high, catching snowflakes for breakfast and camping by the river for lunch, rafting white waters, paragliding to feel the wind up there and GPS and maps become your best friends, then you like me are probably travelling for a living or living for travel.

Gulmarg, Kashmir. Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Gulmarg, Kashmir. Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi

Three trips down for this year, sitting in month four, planning my next travel, I can safely say that pursuing this passion has made me very care free, I don’t care about being too fashionable on the road, I lay emphasis on comfort.  Also, one thing that bothers me is that I have too little time for personal care on the go! This gypsy like nomadic wander lusting life can take a toll on you if you do not take good care of yourself. There are some things that I have learnt as I undertake every travel, and these are the things that I just cannot ignore when I am taking my feet off for travel!

Comfort, comfort and comfort. Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Comfort, comfort and comfort. Because I am a gypsy! Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
  1. Big things, small sizes

First of all, know your essentials, your daily care things that you just can’t live without and find their samples (I am reluctant in trying out those hotel toiletries as I think they are harsh and not suitable for my skin and hair type most of the times).  Carry everything travel sized. I am extremely glad for the monthly beauty boxes that I subscribe to, because these are the samples that I save especially for my travels.

If you have a trouble finding samples, then carry everything in really small bottles or containers (sometimes I use empty lens cases for short travels) that you have at home for things like shampoos, body wash (don’t carry soaps), face wash, toothpaste, mouth wash, perfumes, oils, sunscreen , and the basic toiletteries. It’s quite a pain to discover the leakages of shampoo bottles or any other liquid containers that spill over on all the other belonging, especially during air travel because of the air pressure that is exerted.

  1. In flight must haves

I make it a point to carry a wet wipe tissue in my bag to instantly freshen myself after a long trip in the air (or even during interstate local connectivity by rail, car or bus) nothing rejuvenates me and freshens me up instantly like the wet wipes do. One thing that is most important is to keep yourself hydrated. Drink lots and lots of water throughout the journey. If you, like me, have trouble with landings and take offs, you know that strange thing that happens to the ears? Well, then carry aerated drinks for the flights that don’t provide food and drinks (usually budget domestic flights) keep sipping on the fizz every now and then to get over the air sickness feeling or to get rid of the continued buzz in the ear.

My fizzy drink with lots of ice on the go! Image source: The blog of Ruchi
My fizzy drink with lots of ice on the go! Image source: The blog of Ruchi

I also carry packaged foods like chips or low fat yoghurt, dry fruits etc with me, because I don’t have a good experience with the open food items that even high luxury airlines provide.

M&M and Jelly Bellies! Image Copyright: The blog of Ruchi
M&Ms and Jelly Bellies! Image Copyright: The blog of Ruchi
  1. For a beautiful you

Dark sunglasses for eyes are a must, frankly because any make up other than a BB cream with a good SPF (usually up till 30) is a strict no no for me on the flight. Dark sunglasses make eye makeup redundant when I land, helping me look picture perfect for travelling in the new lands amongst new people! Also, I hope by now you have found out the perfect sun screen for you and are making most of it.

Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi

I use the butter on flight to keep my lips moist the natural way, as they are the first to dry out, and on landing, red lipstick works miracles for me!

Hand sanitizer, mouth wash, small perfume is a must and you all know why!

Dark socks for keeping my pre-oiled (olive oil stays longer than the creams) feet hydrated.

  1. Hair care

It’s best to have got your hair cut and hair color done just a few days before your long travel. It also makes sense to carry dry shampoo, hairbrush and even better a scarf that you can just tie around your hair to avoid looking like someone having a bad hair day. Hair iron is a must too, it works as a make shift iron for the minor creases on your clothes, apart from helping you straighten or curl your hair (if you know the trick)! Also, you can put on some leave in conditioner and cover up your hair in flight to avoid dry and damaged hair on landing.

Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
  1. Handy hand care tips

Nude or transparent nail paints are great for nails on long travels as chipping away of nail paints can go unnoticed. Sometimes it’s even ok to avoid the nail paints because if you have a minute to minute itinerary to follow then it can get quite difficult to keep up with application and re-application of nail paints etc. It is wise to carry olive oil or baby oil that can help keep your hands and nails moisturized and can work as a fix for other moisturizing needs that you might have in case you don’t want to carry too many creams or make up remover with you.

Or better still just glove them up ;). Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Or better still just glove them up ;). Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
  1. Keeping up with basic travel know hows

Wear dark clothes as they avoid letting the dirt show. Carry over sized stoles and always be in your flip-ons or flats. Statement accessories can also add instant zing to your outfit. Camera, memory cards, headphones,  Ipod/Ipad , binoculars, storybook , power adaptor,  swiss knife (packed luggage) and phone are absolutely necessary for me.  Carry first aid, a torch, umbrella, mosquito patches, and other things that you might need specific to the location you are hitting. Oh did I forget to mention passport, insurance, credit cards and local currency?  So ya, that too! And please in a zip lock so that they are weather proof!

  1. Best seats on the airplane

I make it a point to choose my seat online. It’s always window, extra legroom and on the wings. However, if my priority is to deplane first then I choose the seats in front, which help me being first at the immigration and amongst first few to exit from the airport.

Image Copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Image Copyright: The blog of Ruchi
  1. Luggage tips

Mark your luggage with a Fragile sticker. Preferably, travel with less luggage and leave room for shopping. You can also carry old clothes or the clothes that you haven’t been using for a very long time and leave them for the room cleaning staff in poorer countries to make place in your baggage. They will always be grateful for this. It’s also advisable to cut down on your interstate luggage costs in the domestic flights by just carrying hand baggage, hence, invest in bags with lots of zips and bright color. I love cutting down on the baggage fees so digital luggage scales come in use all the time!

Let's shop. Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Let’s shop (not all..there are customs to be paid). Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
  1. Breaking barrier

Greetings in foreign language particular to the place you are travelling can help you break ice with many fellow travellers or locals. Get to learning up some basic salutations. Read travel related blogposts to understand the culture of the place that you are visiting, so that you do not unintentionally end up disrespecting a local.

  1. Exercise

If you don’t want to hit the hotel pool or gym, or are travelling on a budget with stays in motels then do carry a skipping rope with you to help shed those extra kilos that you will gain when you are enjoying too much of the local cuisine and not working out at all!

Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi
Have feet, will travel. Image copyright: The blog of Ruchi

Ending on a completely personal note, I like to be grateful for a lot many things in life and I love appreciating anything/ anyone and everything /everyone that’s ever done any  good to me. I always carry small blank cards with me and leave thank you notes for special people who have helped me in any way on my journeys. These often include flight attendants, concierge, hotel staff, fellow travel mates or tour guides as a token of appreciation, recognition and encouragement.

Hope you enjoyed reading this post, as much as I enjoyed writing it.

This blog post was especially written as a guest blogpost for My Style Mile (MSM BOX). You can find the shorter and edited version of the same article on their website www.msmbox.com. The direct link to the blogpost is here.

Your wandering faffer,

Ruchi

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for these valuable tips,.. I will keep these in mind during my next trip,…

Leave a Reply

