Sugary delights! : Review for G’s Patisserie

Beautifully plated desserts that appear in Masterchef or Michelin desserts are the standard that I look for when I think about desserts. However, I lower those standards by way too many notches when I think of home bakers. I am not too sure whether I am right or wrong in doing so, but I am waiting for someone to come and prove me wrong. For some reason whenever I have to choose a cake for a special occasion in Delhi, I head to Maison des Desserts, Elma’s or Big Chill, that’s close to where I live. Also, if someone asks me what’s my favorite dessert in Delhi, it was the Banoffee Pie at Maison des Desserts for a very long time, but that was long before I discovered Raspberry Delice at Yauatcha. Having all these vivid yet fancy dessert pictures and tastes in my mind, I went ahead to taste the widely curated selection of desserts by Gauri for G’s Patisserie.

Double Choco Cupcake and Red Velvet Cupcake. Copyright The blog of Ruchi
Double Choco Cupcake and Red Velvet Cupcake. Copyright The blog of Ruchi

The dessert selection included Lemon Cupcakes (Rs. 110), Red Velvet Cupcakes (Rs.110), Double choco cupcakes (Rs. 110), Valentine cake pops (Rs.75), Double choco pastry (Rs.120), Red velvet pastry (Rs.130), Choco truffle pastry(Rs.120), Lemon pastry(Rs.120), Strawberry pastry (Rs.120), Lemon tart (Rs.125), Chocolate tart(Rs.125) and Ying Yang Tart (Rs.125).

From left to right- Ying Yang Tart, Lemon Tart, Chocolate Tart. Copyright The blog of Ruchi
From left to right- Ying Yang Tart, Lemon Tart, Chocolate Tart.
Copyright The blog of Ruchi

G’s Patisserie in Gauri’s words is “about combining the joy of baking with focus on getting the classic flavors nailed right”.  You can contact Gauri on Facebook or on Instagram. Also, if you would love to drop into this very cute shop all you have to do is locate this shop in GK2, right opposite Savitri Cinema, Phone numbers are 011-41645111, 9911566009! What’s more? She is still taking orders for Valentine’s Day!

Somehow, I feel that if I was still in college and G’s Patisserie was in my college’s compound then I would frequent this place often. The products have a very home like feeling to them. You may get ambitious to an extent to think that you can get these cup cakes and pastries done at home too, all by your two hands, such is the simplicity that is there in these desserts. Hence, apt for college students’ budget pockets, the kind who are not often looking for fine dining every week or so.

From G'S Patisserie! Copyright The blog of Ruchi
Lemon Pastry from G’s Patisserie!
Copyright The blog of Ruchi

Recently I came across a very interesting article suggesting that desserts are actually the least profitable items in the restaurant industry, as they require rich ingredients. However, one cannot psychologically convince people to pay a huge amount for dessert. See here.

The top 3 things that I liked from the wide selection were the ones that contained least amount of added color, least amount of essence, and just right sugar. They are listed below:

  1. Strawberry Pastry

This flavor was unique. The eating part started and finished too soon. But I removed the frosting on the top and everything else it was decorated with before eating whatever else was left.

I have a practice of trying everything once and twice if I like it. I have a super long list of ‘Things – I – don’t – want – to – do – again’ and it takes a lot to actually make me want to try a unique thing again. This is one flavour that I would go to G’s Patisserie for, once again. In spite of the fact that I am not at all a strawberry person, I liked this a lot.

Strawberry Pastry.  Copyright The blog of Ruchi
Strawberry Pastry.
Copyright The blog of Ruchi

Price Rs. 120+ taxes

Shelf life 2-3 days, if refrigerated

TBOR rating 3.5/5

  1. Lemon Cupcake

The moistness in the Lemon Cupcakes was hard to miss. It was airy in texture. The right flavor, with just a tinge of lemony, and with this too, I removed the icing from the top, seemed like it didn’t belong there.

Price Rs. 110+taxes

Shelf life 2-3 days, if refrigerated

TBOR rating 3.5/5

  1. Cake pop

It was the perfect size and shape. It brings out the aww-ness factor which is something that I liked. It is perfect for Valentine’s Day.

Heart shaped cake pop. Copyright The blog of Ruch
Heart shaped cake pop.
Copyright The blog of Ruchi

Price Rs. 75

Shelf life 2-3 DAYS

TBOR rating 3/5

Hits

1. A very cute shop.

2. Amazing understanding of customer’s need is reflected in her previous works of customized Fondant cakes, they look extremely impressive.

3. The cupcakes are very fresh, moist and soft.

4. Good Quality.

Misses

1. It’s probably the first time that I have not liked things that involve chocolate! The chocolate was not chocolaty enough.

2. Red velvet is wrong in so many ways, be it as a cup cake or a pastry.

3. Tarts didn’t meet my expectations.

4. Presentation and packaging needs improvement.

5. This customized heart shaped cake was good but in my opinion over priced at Rs. 750 for what seemed like less than half a kg!

Valentine's Day special cake. Copyright The blog of Ruchi
Valentine’s Day special cake.
Copyright The blog of Ruchi

I wish these desserts came with a note of calorie count per serving! Keeping an eye out for the best in class home bakers of the town!

Sugar coated faffer,

Ruchi

Leave a Reply

