Hidden treasure in the heart of Chandni Chowk

There are those who love mithai (sweets) and then there are those who LOVE mithai. I am ignoring completely, the ones who don’t like mithais at all. What’s life without mithai? (another debate, another time).

I super LOVE mithai. Afraid to say, but  a tad notch above Chocolates (Godiva, curse me not). For the ones who won’t travel miles to get the perfectly made sinful mithai, your local Haldiram works well. But the Mithai connoisseur that lives in me (I occasionally indulge in self praise and terms that do not exist) takes me miles into the heart of Old Delhi, all the way to the elemental area of Chandni Chowk (located near Fatehpuri Masjid ) in my quest for the perfect mithai, to none other than ‘Chaina Ram’. Chaina Ram Sindhi Confectioners have been serving their rich delicacies all the way from 1901! Needless to say they have won various accolades in their history, most recent one being Times Food Guide Award 2014. They maybe winning numerous accolades, but that can’t match the number of hearts they have won throughout the history of time. They surely have my heart.

Give this place a shot whenever  you are in Chandni Chowk this winter!

My top 3 ‘must have’ suggestion are :

  1. Karachi Halwa (Both orange and Green, taste it to experience royalty)
  2. Soan Halwa (I dare you to finish one in a single go, this pure desi ghee rich mithai will make it an impossible feat)
  3. Soan Papdi, no one makes it better than them, I promise!DSC_1713 DSC_1716

    Soan Papdi
    Soan Papdi

Many fat tummies thence will  galore,

Serial faffer

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You are an amazing writer n photographer , will defenaitly try soan papdi , Batisa n Soan papdi is my favourite sweet 🙂

  2. Hey! Ya finally… u click ur photos so nice..!
    Mithai are indeed good, yeah u like karachi halwa
    Hmm i love laddus man (i have that chota bheem feeling😂)

Leave a Reply

